Module 3D: An Introvert’s Take on Reflective Teaching

Self-reflection-quote

I guess being an introvert poses a lot of advantages as to the topic of reflection.  I mean, I am a type of person who likes to observe and think about things most of the time. I’m fond of replaying random memories in my mind and analyze how different people looks at the same situation in different perspectives. I believe that it is one line close to overthinking, and overthinking sometimes does damage to people, but that is how my mind works. It has become a part of my life that I think without curious reflection, I will not be who I am today. I still need to be polished in different aspects, but I can say that reflection has improved me in a lot of ways, including my relationships with people around me.

I haven’t realized, until upon going through the reading for this module, that reflection is a principle that is fostered in the field of teaching. To become a reflective teacher, I realized that I need to have the right mental attitude because the process on becoming one is taxing and complicated. One needs to be patient and conscious enough to ensure active reflection. One concept that is added to what I already know is the difference between reflection-in-process and reflection-on-process. I usually do the latter such that I reflect on my actions after I have done it. However, I realized that in teaching, it is more effective to employ the former because you get to adjust with your methods and strategies as you do them, and when you reflected that there is a need to. In this way, you get to consciously apply the theories that you have learned and maul over more appropriate ways of applying them.

It should not stop there; a reflective practitioner needs to make an effort to improve his/her ways through the use of research and consulting more experienced individuals in the field. He/She then could incorporate these to the activity being developed and then implement it next chance there is. I mean, I realized that this should be a cyclic process, so as for the activities and for the teacher to be polished more.

When I finally become a teacher or trainer in a traditional setting, I would be conscious enough with everything there is in the classroom: my methods and strategies, media being used, students’ reactions, my nuances, my non-verbal expressions, and other important things. I would ensure to put effort in my reflection in order to be a better practitioner of my profession.

References:

Grant, C., & Zeichner, K. On Becoming a Reflective Teacher. Retrieved November 07, 2015 from http://www.wou.edu/~girodm/foundations/Grant_and_Zeichner.pdf

OpenLearn. (2014). Learning to teach: Becoming a reflective practitioner. Available at http://www.open.edu/openlearn/education/learning-teach-becoming-reflective-practitioner/content-section-0

Scales, P. (2008). The reflective teacher. Teaching in the lifelong learning sector, 7 – 26. Maidenhead, Berkshire: Open University Press.

Image source: Link

Leave a Reply

