Module 2: Assessment – Of Cycles and Kinds

In the second module, I learned that it is imperative that the assessment process be cyclical because it has to go back to start to fully maximize its benefits. What am I talking here? I realized that once the objectives of the lesson are derived from the goal of the course, the assessment method should come from there. The assessment should be based on what the teacher has set for the students to learn at the beginning of the class. When one makes a baseless assessment, then results are rendered unreliable and inaccurate. After implementing assessment, gathered data must be used to analyze whether instructional strategies are effective, and that institutional goals are met. Results should be used in order to improve, revise, or change instruction and develop the entire course. After that, the process begins again. When this becomes linear, improvements may not be realized.

On another note, I learned more about the three kinds of assessment: AS, FOR, and OF learning. A week before, I have actually watched the video resource on “Rethinking Classroom Instruction with Purpose in Mind” thus this lesson is not entirely new to me. Although I still get confused about the three, I’m glad I was introduced about these concepts. I realized that assessment does not only exist to gauge student learning at the end of the lesson/class/course, because it can also be done before and during the lesson. And more importantly, I realized that I was actually already doing each one of them in my experience as an online teacher. Nevertheless, I still need to read more to become adept with the assessment process.

Leave a Reply

