Module 3C: Traditional and Authentic Assessment

authentic-skills

When I was a student, I always wonder why some of my classmates perform well during written exams but not when given practical exams or projects. There are also those who are good on the latter but not on the former. Honestly, I’m not that excited when given tasks or activities that call for the showcase of our acquired knowledge or skill, and I get to be excited during exams that tests my memory and understanding. Being the lazy that I was, I thought that practical and hands-on activities were somewhat redundant, except from activities that are of interest to me. But as I grew older, I learned to appreciate the efforts being exerted by my teachers in subjecting us to meaningful activities.When I graduated from college and started work, I appreciated every activity/project that I experienced when I was a student. I realized that those things, after all, are more useful when we get to live in the real world.

In this module, I learned that assessment methods such as exams and quizzes in the form of multiple choice, true or false, or filling the blanks are kinds of traditional tests. These tests aim to measure students’ recall and understanding. But if teachers want implement assessment involving higher-order thinking skills such as evaluation, analysis, and creation, he/she must embark on employing authentic assessment. This is used to gauge student learning in a more in-depth and comprehensive manner. Those skills and attitudes and particular knowledge that cannot be efficiently measured by a test need to be measure by a more appropriate method. These methods can range from essay and article writing, role playing, performances, and portfolios, among others. Authentic assessment is believed to prepare the students for tasks in the real world.

Although authentic assessment may target deeper set of knowledge and skills, one cannot deny the fact that traditional assessment is still essential for the whole assessment process in the classroom. I realized that teachers should not pick which kind of assessment to use, but learn how to complement methods from each type to achieve a more comprehensive and targeted measurement of student learning. 🙂

Photo source

Leave a Reply

